Review: The Automation – Anonymous

IMAG2069***(3.5 stars)

I was sent this book from S.O.B. Publishing, a small indie publishing firm, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review of this book.

The Automation is Vol 1. in The Circo Del Herrero series (The Blacksmith Circus), and this book was definitely out of my usual genre and not my usual type of book that I would usually go for when deciding to pick up a book for myself, but I am so glad that I was sent this book. I am definitely a reader who loves to select books out of my comfort zone and hate to stay in one genre for too long, so this book was a nice change, even if it was a confusing read to begin with, as it shock up my reading choices. My biggest question and problem I have now right now, is how do I describe this book? Not only to prevent spoilers but because this is one strange book that when I start describing and explaining this book, I will begin a tangent. Now where to begin? . . .

Imagine a penny isn’t just a penny. Or a hair pin isn’t just a pin. These simple little inanimate objects that you thought we just that, inanimate, turned out to be completely different and life changing. That once you touch them, you own them, you possess them to the degree that you are now their master. Now I know this sounds strange but that’s because I’ve left something out, that once you’ve touched and possessed these seemingly inanimate objects you discover that they are more than just that. They are Automatons! They come to life and are able to transform to look like regular humans and blend it, while still being able to transform back into their inanimate objects appearance whenever their master commands them to. They are able to manifest things and to have them to just appear, to create things from out of themselves, and you have a connection to one another, because they are apart of you. Now imagine discovering this in the most shocking way possible, with a traumatic event thrown on top. Would you believe it? Well say hello to Odys Odelyn, who thanks to him, we get to learn and experience this unknown secret that’s been hidden from us.

The first thing I have to say about this book is about the writing style as this is obviously the first thing that stand out when reading a book. This book was nothing like anything I have ever read before, which is so unusual to do in itself, which I have to give it props to as this is very impressive to do these days. We are told that this book is written by “BLA” and is annotated by “G.B. Gabbler”, but there are disclamiers in the book that these are both pen names and this book was infact written completely by one person, who is Anonymous. So, considering that the book has one writing style and the annotated sections has another sort of writing style, which could be a separate person, the Editor named “Gabbler”, that goes to show how much the author thought of all of these little details. At times, I did forget that there was only one author and not two because of this. Plus, The style of writing that was used, for both the book and annotations, also included a fourth wall element where they were talking directly to the readers. This was done especially with the annotations as this was the whole idea behind the annotations, as they way to explain, express, and speak to the audience. The author however, for the main part of the book, took an active part in the story, calling himself the narrator, so on occasions, he/she would speak directly to the reader. This is also written to be like an epic Greek poem, with stanzas and so on. This was lost on me sadly as I have never red any, and don’t plan on reading any sorry.

The story was very confusing, for me, especially at the beginning. If you have a look at my copy then you will see so my sticky coloured tags, and multiple sticky tags at that which represented different things. This was for me to try and get this story in order. But once I did and just let go and got absorbed into the story, it was so much easier to follow and so much more enjoyable to read. What threw me a little at first may have been that this isn’t my usual type of book to read, but that doesn’t usually put me off a book, as I love giving any book and genre a read and opening up my mind. What also threw me, was that the author claimed that this was based on true events, and on true events that have happened in his life, so when things started getting a little strange my mind just couldn’t follow. The author threw himself into the story by making himself the narrator, but them he also threw himself into the story again by making himself another character a little later on, which may or may not become important in this series.

In this first book in the series, we are introduced to so many characters, masters, automations, humans and even Gods, who have their owns plans to set in motion. There are some characters who are created and portrayed really well and do have me looking forward to the next book in this series, just to see what is going to happen what is going to happen to the characters and with the story. I really like Odys and Maud, Master and Automation, but my favourite character at the moment would definitely have to be Odissa. She is created strong, and giving the situations that she is put in, she is smart and is one of the strongest and level headed characters in this book, especially as she is one of the only humans who doesn’t have an Automaton and isn’t protected. There are kind of special rewards and perks to having an Automaton, but you’ll hve to read the book to find that out. As well as discovering the negatives that also arise from being given or finding an automaton.

Overall, I did end up enjoying this book think that this will end up being quite a good series and I have absolutely no idea where it’s heading, which is fantastic. This is a really good start and I believe that the second book in the series is due to come out soon, which is really exciting, and I hope it lives up to the hype. I wish I could rate this book higher, but when looking at some of the other books that I’ve rated 4 stars, I sadly couldn’t do it. But I know that if vol 2 is going to be as good as I hope, it’d definitely going to have an higher rating. That’s why I have rated this book 3.5 stars out of 5, although I do recommend this book. Try something different! 🙂

If you are interested, they have their own webpage, so click here and go exploring a little 😉

Do you like trying new books from different genres? Any recommendations? How does this book sound? Comment below 🙂

3 thoughts on “Review: The Automation – Anonymous

  1. jessicasblog45 says:

    That book sounds strange. I’ll read most anything as long as it’s not about rape, aliens, or war. I do recommend Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. It was a little bit out of my comfort zone because the book is similar to a story I wrote.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

