August Book Haul 2016

IMAG2079

Hello book lovers and fellow bloggers 😀

I am actually posting my first Book Haul post on time in months an not a couple of weeks into the following month! I know I can’t believe it either. I am actually getting back on track after the car crash. Even though I am still doing physiotherapy, my everyday exercises and everything else to try and ease the pain, I am finally getting my site back on track, including my August Book Haul 🙂 This would’ve been a very short post, until this last week, where I bought an additional couple of books as a little treat to myself and also received a Goodreads Giveaway win. So let’s have a look at what books I have bought or won this month. . .

Books I’ve Received Thanks to Goodreads Giveaways:IMAG2096These are the books that I have been lucky enough to have won this month thanks to the Goodreads Giveaways, but just like always, as I have already created posts for these Giveaway wins, I will only be leaving a description for each of these books. However, I will be leaving a link for each of the original posts which contain way more of the book.

Greeth – Charles Lafave 

 IMAG2090

“Peter Buraku was a wizard until he was tried, convicted, and sentenced for a terrible crime. He could never cast another spell and for eight long years, he begged for the worst jobs, lived in the slums, and worked for humans.

Then a wealthy stranger came into his life with an impossible promise. You can be a wizard again. Too late, Peter discovers an ancient god from another dimension is using human agents to open a portal so it can move into this world, and wizardry soldier Julie Alvarez, the lost love he hasn’t seen in years, is in danger.

Three children are dead. Many more are missing. Something dark and terrible is rising. A breach has opened between worlds and an ancient god will be reborn on fertile Earth. The flesh of humanity will feed its many children.

Peter embarks on a quest for redemption to stop the ancient god from destroying the world. Will his unique ability to create life be enough to change what he’s done? Or will guilt from his role in helping to destroy so much life be his undoing?”

Click here for My Goodreads Giveaway Win post.

The Last Breath – Kimberly Belle

IMAG2094

One woman will stop at nothing to discover the devastating truth about her family…

Chasing disasters around the globe keeps humanitarian aid worker Gia Andrews away from her own ground zero. Now, after sixteen years in jail for the murder of her stepmother in small-town Tennessee, Gia’s father has come home to die of cancer. And she’s responsible for his care.

Resuming the role of daughter to the town’s most infamous murderer means confronting the past she’s spent over a decade avoiding. But in the end, the truth about what really happened may have deadlier consequences than she could have ever anticipated…”

– Click here for My Goodreads Giveaway Win post.

Books I’ve Bought This Month:

IMAG2073

I have purchased four books this month and they were all brand new from Amazon. Since adapting my Amazon account to Amazon Prime and I have free one day delivery, I have been buying more and more books from Amazon, a lot more often. I was doing good this month and had only bought two books, mainly because I was distracted and too busy, but as things started getting back on track, I decided to reward myself by buying two more books off of my Amazon Wishlist. So what books have I bought this month?. .

The Problem With Forever – Jennifer L. ArmentroutIMAG2088

I heard about this book first through the BookTubing community, from watching YouTube videos, and the description of this book just sounded amazing, that I instantly added it to my wishlist. It didn’t stay in my wishlist for long, as I ordered it the next day. I have heard really good reviews about this book and even better reviews about this author and this will be my first book that I’ve read by Jennifer L. Armentrout. And I can’t wait to read it!!! Here is the blurb for this book, so let’s see if you get as excited as I got when I first heard, and still am, about this book:

“FOR SOME PEOPLE, SILENCE IS A WEAPON. FOR MALLORY ‘MOUSE’ DODGE, IT’S A SHIELD.

Growing up in the foster system she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents Mallory must face a new milestone – spending her senior year at a normal high school.

But she never imagined she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realise that the connection she shared with Rider never faded. Yet as Rider’s life spirals out of control, Mallory must make a choice between staying silent and speaking out – for the people she loves, the life she wants and the truth that needs to be heard.”

I so can’t wait to read this book!!

TH1RTEEN R3ASONS – JAY ASHER IMAG2086

This is yet again, another book that I discovered thanks to the amazing Book Tube and Book Blogging community. Sometimes you just want a book that is going to mean something and is going to leave you thinking afterwards. Thinking about your actions, about what you say and how you can have an impact on somebodies else’s life, even if you don’t realise it. So when I heard about this book, and heard about the description, I knew I just had to read it. So this book was bought instantly, not even making it to my wishlist. Here is the books blurb;

“Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and first love – who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

Hannah’s voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

All though the night, Clay keeps listening – and what he discovers changes his life. . .”

There is a little something extra special when it comes to this book that was unexpected. You get to listen to Hannah’s tapes online, and the website is provided with the book, which can add to the experience while reading the book. I don’t know if I will do that, as it may seem to real and I may get too emotional, but time will tell, but it gives people the option. What I do know is that this book is one of the next books I will be reading, so look out for my review.

Glass Sword – Victoria AveyardIMAG2077

(Please excuse the poor photo)

 I have been putting of buying this book since it has come out because I haven’t really heard good reviews about it. I really loved the first book and was originally so excited and was waiting with anticipation for the release of this sequel. So this book has been waiting in my wishlist since it has been released, with me contemplating what to do. Over this time, I have even read the two short story prequels, which were also disappointments. But I have finally given in and am going to judge this book solely on my own  experience with this book. I just needed to know how this series carried on from where it left off, and just wanted to know more. In case you are like me and haven’t read this book yet, here is the books blurb, but be warned as this is the second book in the series and this may contain spoilers;

“I WAS BORN TO KILL A KING, TO END A REIGN OF TERROR BEFORE IT CAN TRULY BEGIN.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red, the colour of common folk, but her Silver ability – the power to control lightning – has turned her into a weapon that the Silver court will do anything to destroy.

With no one left to trust, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join the uprising. But Mare is treading a deadly path. Will she shatter under the weight of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her for ever?”

Let’s see how this book goes.

Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay KristoffIMAG2074

This is a book that is everywhere!! And when I say everywhere, I mean everywhere. I have seen this book all over Book Tube, Book Blogs, Social Media and is one of the most highest recommended books on online book stores, yes, yes, including Amazon. I’m really not sponsored by Amazon I swear. Because of the high popularity with this book, I really wanted to see what the big fuss with this book was about. When this arrived, the uniqueness of the layout of the pages and it’s design, really made me want to read it instantly. Damn boyfriend taking it away on holiday with him. So, yet again, for those of you who haven’t heard about this book, hear is the books blurb;

“The year is 2575 and two mega-corporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice covered speck.

Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Ezra and Kady have to make their escape on the evacuating fleet. But their troubles are just beginning. A deadly plague has broken out on one of the spaceships and it is mutating with terrifying results. Their ship’ protection is seriously flawed. No one will say what is going on.

As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her. Ezra. And the only problem with that is they split up before all this trouble started and she isn’t supposed to be talking to him.

A fantastically original, heart-stopping adventure where everything is definitely more dangerous than it seems.”

So those are all of the books that I have bought and won this month! And I have even posted my August Book Haul in the month of August, which is quite impressive for me lately, which is really bad actually. I so can’t wait to read these books. Sadly, Glass Sword and Illuminae have been borrowed by my boyfriend and taken abroad with him while he’s on holiday with his family. So judging during my Book-A-Thon, these books will not be able to be included, which I’m most gutted not to be including Illuminae in with this. But I will hopefully be reading several of my TBR books to then free up my list so when I have it back, it can be one of the first books I can read 😀

I look forward to seeing what books you all bought during August 🙂

Leave a Reply

