July Book Haul 2016

Hello fellow book lovers and bloggers!

July was a good month for me when it came to buying books, and brand new books at that, as I usually love bargain book hunting. But there were so many books that I wanted this month that I went Amazon book hunting instead and even then I had to restrain myself. My goal of “not buying more books” is really flying out the window, as I’ve even had to buy new book shelves, which you may be able to see if you pay pretty close attention to these photos. So what books did I acquire over the month of July I hear you ask? Whether they were bought, won, sent, or any other way of procuring them. Well let me tell you. . .

Books Sent To Me By Publishers:

The Automation: Vol 1 of The Circo Del Herrero Series – Anonymous (Bla & Annotated by GB Gabbler)IMAG2014 (1)

The Automation is the first book that I have ever received in the mail from a publisher, through them seeing my sight and waiting me to read and review their book and putting it up on my site. I have received quite a few eBooks from authors and publishers, which is completely amazing, but to receive the actual physical printed copy of the book is beyond amazing. I have done a post about this book previously and I will out a link up to this post. I am really excited to read this book, as what I’ve read of it so far has really gotten me excited, plus this is the first book in the series so fingers crossed, it’ll be a good series.

“The capital-A Automatons of Greco-Roman myth aren’t clockwork. Their design is much more divine. They’re more intricate than robots or androids or anything else mortal humans could invent. Their windup keys are their human Masters. They aren’t mindless; they have infinite storage space. And, because they have more than one form, they’re more versatile and portable than, say, your cell phone—and much more useful too. The only thing these god-forged beings share in common with those lowercase-A automatons is their pre-programmed existence. They have a function—a function their creator put into place—a function that was questionable from the start…

Odys (no, not short for Odysseus, thank you) finds his hermetic lifestyle falling apart after a stranger commits suicide to free his soul-attached Automaton slave. The humanoid Automaton uses Odys’s soul to “reactivate” herself. Odys must learn to accept that the female Automaton is an extension of his body—that they are the same person—and that her creator-god is forging a new purpose for all with Automatons…

The novel calls itself a “Prose Epic,” but it otherwise a purposeful implosion of literary clichés and gimmicks: A Narrator and a Editor (named Gabbler) frame the novel. Gabbler’s pompous commentary (as footnotes) on the nameless Narrator’s story grounds the novel in reality. Gabbler is a stereotypical academic who likes the story only for its so-called “literally” qualities, but otherwise contradicts the Narrator’s claim that the story is true.

THE AUTOMATION is a this-world fantasy that reboots mythical characters and alchemical concepts. Its ideal place would be on the same bookshelf as Wilson’s ALIF THE UNSEEN and Gaiman’s AMERICAN GODS – though it wouldn’t mind bookending Homer, Virgil, and Milton, to be specific.

And, yes, “B.L.A. and G.B. Gabbler” are really just  pen name.

Click here for post for my Full Post of The Automation: Vol 1 of The Circo Del Herrero series

Books I’ve Bought This Month:

IMAG2017Looking at them now, I didn’t buy that many books this month. I’m actually a little disappointed in myself now and should rectify that by buying more books 😛 And what’s more, I’ve read three of these books this month already, all of which were during my Book-A-Thon. I have put up two reviews so far, but I haven’t put up the third one yet. I’m sorry, but I am running behind, if you haven’t seen from my late book haul again this month. That car crash is really playing on me and all these physiotherapy sessions and the pain in general is making it really difficult time wise and to just sit and type. I can’t wait to get it all sorted and for no more pain. So Let’s get on with what books I’ve bought this month and for the reviews I have posted, I will put links in with the titles, so please feel free to check them out 🙂

Alice (Chronicles Of Alice #1) – Christina Henry IMAG2018

This book is a retelling of sorts, of Lewis Carroll’s classic tale of Alice in Wonderland. If you haven’t read Lewis Carroll’s original version, or heard of it (WHAT?? :O) then that doesn’t matter. This book takes on a darker and more disturbing take of the original tale and finds Alice taking on a dangerous adventure, partnered with the Hatcher, they set off on a quest they were destined and fated to do together, to find and destroy the Jabberwock. But whether they are meant to survive this quest is another matter.  On this quest, they come across so many obstacles that are put in their way, including things that they both may not want to remember and come across. I love this book!!

“In a warren of crumbling buildings and desperate people called the Old City, there stands a hospital with cinderblock walls which echo with  the screams of the poor souls inside.

In the hospital, there is a woman. Her hair, once blonde, hangs in tangles down her back. She doesn’t remember why she’s in such a terrible place – just a tea party long ago, and long ears, and blood. . .

Then, one night, a fire at the hospital gives the woman a chance to escape, tumbling out of the hole that imprisoned her, leaving her free to uncover the truth about what happened to her all those years ago.

Only something else has escaped with her. Something dark. Something powerful.

And to find the truth, she will have to track this beast to the very heart of the Old City, where the rabbit waits for his Alice.”

 – Click here for the post for Review: Alice (Chronicles of Alice #1) – Christina Henry

Red Queen (Chronicles of Alice #2) – Christina HenryIMAG2019

This is the second book in the Chronicles of Alice series and follows on after Alice. I bought  this book straight after I finished reading the first book and I am now so excited to read it and is one of my very next books to read. The only reason that I haven’t read it yet is because of all these stupid phyiso sessions, prior book arrangements, plus I’ve got new bookshelves which were put up yesterday 😀 But this is one of the very next books I’m going to be reading!! I can’t wait.

“The land outside of the Old City was supposed to be green, lush, and hopeful. A place where Alice could finally rest, no longer the plaything of the Rabbit, the pawn of Cheshire, or the prey of the Jabberwocky. But the verdant fields are nothing but ash- and hope is nowhere to be found.

Still, Alice and Hatcher are on a mission to find his daughter, a quest they will not forsake even as it takes them deep into them clutches of the mad White Queen and her goblin or into the realm of the twisted and cruel Black King.

The pieces are set and the game has begun. Each move brings Alice closer to her destiny. But, to win, she will need to harness her newfound abilities and ally herself with someone even more powerful- the mysterious and vengeful Red Queen. . .

The Dare – John Boyne IMAG2020 (1)I bought this book, or short story, as I haven’t read a John Boyne book in a while and I really enjoyed the books I have previously read of his, especially The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. Knowing about my upcoming Book-A-Thon I was going to be doing, I wanted to have a couple of short books to throw in there and when I saw this book on Amazon, I thought it was perfect. It was so good to read another book, no matter how small, by John Boyne again and I now want to, no make that need to, buy some more John Boyne book and get my Boyne read back on. I have written a review for this book, so of course I shall leave a link for that post below, after the description of this book, so please feel free to check out my review if you like the sound of this book 😀

“At the start of his school holidays, Danny Delaney is looking forward to a trouble-free summer. But he knows that something terrible has happened when his mother returns home one afternoon with two policemen. 

There has been an accident. Mrs Delaney has hit a small boy with her car. The boy is in a coma at the local hospital and nobody knows if he will ever wake up.

Danny’s mother closes herself off, full of guilt. Danny and his father are left to pick up pieces of their broken family.

John Boyne tells the story from the point of view of a twelve-year-old boy. The Dare is about how one moment can change a family for ever.”

Click here for my post for Review: The Dare – John Boyne

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children – Ransom RiggsIMAG2021I bought this book because I have heard nothing but great things about it none stop all over the BookTube and the BookBlogging community. Ever since I have seen the trailer for this movie myself, which looked really good and got me so excited for the movie, to then discover that it was originally a book, and an incredible book at that, I had to buy this book to read before the movie comes out. I’m hoping that it hasn’t been over sold, plus I’ve heard that just from the trailer alone, that there are some differences between the book and the upcoming movie. This book, I believe, is also part of a series, but I didn’t know if I’d like the first book, so I didn’t order the other books, as I’m being overly catious. There are also photos in this book and I can’t wait to see how they link in with the story.

“A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of peculiar photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horic family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its decaying bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that Miss Peregrine’s children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for a good reason. And somehow- impossible though it may seems – they still may be alive.”

The Yellow Wall-Paper & Other Stories – Charlotte Perkins GilmanIMAG2023I bought this book for it’s titled story, “The Yellow Wallpaper”. This is a short story, shorter than even I anticipated, and it also came with an additional six stories. Again, I bought this book from Amazon as I wanted to add some short stories and shorter reads to my Book-A-Thon, to help break up my week while reading, especially if I’m getting into a slump or struggling. This has always been on my TBR list, which is a slightly odd book to have on a TBR I will admit, but I’m so glad I’ve read it, and the other stories were within this edition. I haven’t written up my review for this book, or each of these stories individually, which I will do in the same review, but I will do doing that as soon as possible. My copy, with all seven stories in total, is a total of 70 pages, so it’s not a massive book to read and get through.

“Best known for the 1892 title story of this collection, a harrowing tale of a woman’s descent into madness, Charlotte Perkins Gilman wrote more than 200 other short stories. Seven of her finest are reprinted here.

Written from a feminist perspective, often focusing on the inferior status accorded to women by society, the tales include ‘Turned’, an ironic story with a startling twist, in which a husband seduces and impregnates a naïve servant; ‘Cottagette’, concerning the romance of a young artist and a man who’s apparently too good to be true; ‘Mr. Peebles’ Heart’, a liberating tale of a fiftyish shopkeeper whose sister-in-law, a doctor, persuades him to take a solo trip to Europe, with revivifying results; ‘The Yellow Wallpaper’; and three other outstanding stories.

These charming tales are not only highly readable and full of humour and invention, but also offer ample food for thought about social, economic, and personal relationships of men and women – and how they might be improved.”

Books I’ve Won From Goodreads Givaways This Month:

IMAG2007These are the books that I have been luckily enough to win this month from Goodreads Giveaway. As I’ve already created posts for each of these books individually, I will only be putting the Goodreads Description of each of these books a link to the initial post I’ve created of the Goodreads Giveaway post. So let’s begin. . .

The Farm at the Edge of the World – Sarah VaughanIMAG2011

1939, and Will and Alice are evacuated to a granite farm in north Cornwall, perched on a windswept cliff. There they meet the farmer’s daughter, Maggie, and against fields of shimmering barley and a sky that stretches forever, enjoy a childhood largely protected from the ravages of war.

But in the sweltering summer of 1943 something happens that will have tragic consequences. A small lie escalates. Over 70 years on Alice is determined to atone for her behaviour – but has she left it too late?

2014, and Maggie’s granddaughter Lucy flees to the childhood home she couldn’t wait to leave thirteen years earlier, marriage over; career apparently ended thanks to one terrible mistake. Can she rebuild herself and the family farm? And can she help her grandmother, plagued by a secret, to find some lasting peace?

This is a novel about identity and belonging; guilt, regret and atonement; the unrealistic expectations placed on children and the pain of coming of age. It’s about small lies and dark secrets. But above all it’s about a beautiful, desolate, complex place.“

Click here for My Goodreads Giveaway Win post.

The Fire Child – S.K. TremayneIMAG2012 (1)

“THE CHILLING NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER BY S.K. TREMAYNE, AUTHOR OF THE SUNDAY TIMES NO. 1 BESTSELLER, THE ICE TWINS.

When Rachel marries dark, handsome David, everything seems to fall into place. Swept from single life in London to the beautiful Carnhallow House in Cornwall, she gains wealth, love, and an affectionate stepson, Jamie.

But then Jamie’s behaviour changes, and Rachel’s perfect life begins to unravel. He makes disturbing predictions, claiming to be haunted by the spectre of his late mother – David’s previous wife. Is this Jamie’s way of punishing Rachel, or is he far more traumatized than she thought?

As Rachel starts digging into the past, she begins to grow suspicious of her husband. Why is he so reluctant to discuss Jamie’s outbursts? And what exactly happened to cause his ex-wife’s untimely death, less than two years ago? As summer slips away and December looms, Rachel begins to fear there might be truth in Jamie’s words:

‘You will be dead by Christmas.’“

Click here for My Goodreads Giveaway Win post.

Between Two Fires – Toni WilliamsIMAG2013

Rudy Phillips is the sort of guy who walks into a room and catches every female eye, and it’s not just because of his good looks. He has a mesmerizing charm that lures a woman’s heart. However, when he meets Bridget Tennyson, a stunningly beautiful American stockbroker, she immediately captures his heart like no other woman has ever done before. Bridget owns a multimillion dollar stock-trading firm on Elysian Island, an exclusive Caribbean retreat for the superrich. She’s also married to the famous British nobleman, Lord Edward Tennyson. Rudy is all too aware that aside from Bridget being married, Bridget is way out of his league and the two of them come from completely different worlds. Nevertheless, they’re crazy about each other and yearn to be together but first they’ve got to figure out how to get rid of Edward. If they slip up and Edward discovers what’s going down, all hell will break loose but it’s a chance they’re willing to take.

– Click here for My Goodreads Giveaway Win post.

So that’s my July book haul! Sorry for the late posting and I am going to hopefully be getting back on track soon. Stupid car accident and phyiso and everything else that has now come with it has really been getting to me and making me struggle with several things, including my blog sadly. Thank you if you have managed to get all the way through this post 😛

One thought on “July Book Haul 2016

Leave a Reply

