June Book Haul 2016

20160708_143428

I am super late posting my Book Haul for the month of June, as we are massively into July already. I do have a good reason for why I am so behind and late in doing my Book Haul this month, as I was in a car accident on Sunday. Thankfully, everyone who was in the car in fine, as in no broken bones and no serious injuries. There is a lot of aches, pains and bruising, between us all, and I’ve even managed to sprain the muscles going my left arm, shoulder, neck, and top left half of my back, as I  was stupid and my automatic reaction was to braise myself by putting that arm out on the dash board. I have even managed to damage and pull the sciatic nerve in my lower back and connecting to the top of my left leg. The weirdest part that’s been hurting is my ear, which is strange, and I’ve had a earache and ringing in my ear ever since, which is believed to be from the sudden impact of the cars. But  could have been much, much worse, so thank God for blessings.

Anyways, lets get started with the June Book Haul and see what books I have bought, won, was given for my 24th birthday, and so on. So lets begin. . .

Goodreads Giveaway Books I’ve Received This Month:

20160708_143503
These are the Goodreads Giveaway books that I have been lucky enough to have won this month. I have already created posts for each of these books individually, which will be linked in with each of the books, but because of this, I will only be including the books names, author, blurb and link to the main post which has more detail. So here we go.

All These Perfect Strangers  – Aoife Clifford

20160708_143709
“For Penelope Sheppard, university offers an escape from her troubled past. Running from a life weighed down with scandal and tragedy. Pen sees this as the ideal place to reinvent herself among perfect strangers. Life in her new halls of residence feels like a wonderland of sex, drugs, and maybe even love.

But all too soon, Pen realises you can never run far or fast enough. And when Pen’s secrets are uncovered, the consequences are deadly. . .”
Click here for the Goodreads Giveaway Win post.
Click here for the Review: All These Perfect Strangers – Aoife Clifford

In The Dark, In The Wood – Eliza Wass

20160708_143652
IN THE DARK
Father wants sixteen-year-old Castley
and her five siblings to hide from
the world. Father wants to bury their
family’s secrets where no one will
ever find them.

IN THE WOODS
Father says they are destined to be
together for ever. In heaven. Father
says the sooner they get there
the better. But Castley wants to be
normal. She wants to kiss boys and
wear jeans shorts.

CASTLEYS WANTS TO LIVE.”
Click here for the Goodreads Giveaway Win post.
Click here for the Review: In The Dark, In The Wood – Eliza Wass

No Man’s Land – Simon Tolkien

20160708_143526Adam Raine is a boy cursed by misfortune. His impoverished childhood in the slums of Islington is brought to an end by a tragedy that sends him north to Scarsdale, a hard-living coalmining town where his father finds work as a union organizer. But it isn’t long before the escalating tensions between the miners and their employer, Sir John Scarsdale, explode with terrible consequences.

In the aftermath, Adam meets Miriam, the Rector’s beautiful daughter, and moves into Scarsdale Hall, an opulent paradise compared with the life he has been used to before. But he makes an enemy of Sir John’s son, Brice, who subjects him to endless petty cruelties for daring to step above his station.

When love and an Oxford education beckon, Adam feels that his life is finally starting to come together – until the outbreak of war threatens to tear everything apart.

From the slums of London to the riches of an Edwardian country house; from the hot, dark seams of a Yorkshire coalmine to the exposed terrors of the trenches, Adam Raine’s journey from boy to man is set against the backdrop of a society violently entering the modern world.
Click here for the Goodreads Giveaway Win post.

Rum & Coke – Jaxy Mono

20160708_143639

A GRINGO,
A CHICA,
A CADDY,
& A GODDESS. . .

“Well, this is us, Jack, Cuban cane rum and yanqui Coca-Cola; Cuba Libra, ‘free Cuba’! Only we call this cocktail ‘Ha-Ha’ now, because there’s no Cuba and no freedom. Sauld!”

When a straight-laced gringo is picked up by a free-spirited chica on Havana, she takes him for a ride across modern-day Cuba in a 1958 Cadillac Eldorado – a road-trip that brings the two face-to-face with their hidden selves.

Rum & Coke is a crazily off-kilter love story and a kinky comic thriller. But most of all it is simply the unforgettable tale of a gringo, a chica, a Caddy, and a Santeria goddess. . .”
Click here for the Goodreads Giveaway Win post.

Book I Received For My Birthday:
I only received one book for my birthday, and money to buy whatever other books my heart desires, that way I have the choice! Mwahahahahaha 😛 The magical 24th Birthday. But I love getting books. So lets see the book that I did receive.

The Lavender Ladies Detective Agency (Death In Sunset Grove: Book 1) – Minna Lindgren

20160708_143922This book is meant to be really good, from what I have read from reviews and so on and was originally written in Finnish and has been translated into English. From what I have also read from online, this is also meant to be the first book in the upcoming book trilogy. From the description of this book, the person who bought and gifted me this book knows me very well. So shall we read the blurb? Here we go:

“Good detectives come in all
manner of guises. . .

Siiri and Irma are best friends and queen bees at Sunset Grove, a retirement community for those still young at heart. With a combined age of nearly 180, Siiri and Irma are still just as inquisitive and witty as when they first met decades ago.

But when their comfortable world is upturned by a suspicious death at Sunset Grove, Siiri and Irma are shocked into doing something about it. Determined to find out exactly what happened and why, they begin their own private investigations and form The Lavender Ladies Detective Agency.

The trouble is, beneath Sunset Grove’s calm façade there is more going on than meets the eye – will Siiri and Irma discover more than they bargained for?”

Books I’ve Bought This Month:

20160708_143820I didn’t buy that many books this month, only two books grabbed my attention enough to buy them, each of them were bought brand new. I really do need to read my books before purchasing new books, and that’s not including my eBooks.

The Long Way Home – Louise Penny

20160708_143907 I saw this book while I was wandering around in a book shop called The Works, while killing time waiting for a film to start in the Cinema. This cover grabbed my attention which had me picking up this book, to reveal it’s thrilling description. It just sounds so exciting. Louise Penny is a number one New York Times bestselling author, which is making me want to read this book so much more, plus the book that made her the New York bestselling author.

“Clara Morrow’s husband is missing. When he fails to come home on the first anniversary of their separation as promised, Clara asks the only person she trusts to try and find him: former Chief Inspector of Homicide, Armand Gamache.

As Gamache journeys further into the case, he is drawn deeper into the tortured mind of Peter Morrow, a man so desperate to recapture his fame as an artist that he would sell his soul. As Gamache gets closer to the truth, he uncovers a deadly trail of jealously and deceit. Can Gamache bring Peter – and himself – home safely? Or in searching for answers, has he placed himself, and those closet to him, in terrible danger?”

Go Set A Watchman – Harper Lee

20160708_143841This book has been on my Amazon Wishlist since before it came out. My only problem with this book, I really prefer paperback books, which means it’s needed to be added onto a pre-order wishlist for months extra!! But finally, with my Amazon Prime account, I ordered it with next day delivery 😀 Yay!! I was sadly late to reading To Kill A Mockingbird, but that meant that when I did finally read it, I read it with age and wisdom that it was meant to be read with and I loved it. But how is this sequel going to happen and what’s it going to be about? Let’s see. . .

Maycomb,  Alabama. Twenty-six-year-old Jean Louise Finch – ‘Scout’ – returns home from New York City to visit her ageing father, Atticus. Set the backdrop of the civil rights tensions and political turmoil that were transforming the South, Jean Louise’s homecoming turns bittersweet when she learns disturbing truths about her close-knit family, the town and the people dearest to her. Memories from her childhood flood back, and her values and assumptions are thrown into doubt. Featuring many of the iconic characters from To Kill A Mockingbird, Go Set A Watchman perfectly captures a young woman, and a world, in painful yet necessary transition out of the illusions of the past – a journey that can be guided only by one’s own conscience.”

So that’s my extremely late Book Haul for the month of June. Not as many as last month. Have you read any of these books? Any good?  What books would you suggest that I read first out of them all? Or pick up and buy this month? Comment below 😀

4 thoughts on “June Book Haul 2016

    • ShayneysReviews says:

      I don’t think that you can ever beat To Kill A Mockingbird, as it has this massive standard to live up to. So, even a sequel isn’t going to fair well next to it, as the original as been around for decades prior to it.

      Thank you. It’s nice knowing this in advance so that my expectations aren’t too high when going in to reading it. But, it may turn out better than expected when my expectations and some reviews about this books have been negative so far, before reading it.

      On saying that, I am still really excited to read this book, despite the negative reviews, because I did really enjoy reading To Kill A Mockingbird. I remain slightly optimistic, open minded and ever so cautious. *Fingers Crossed*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

