Review: The Reflections of Queen Snow White – David Meredith

IMAG1881

*****

I received this eBook as an Amazon gift from the author himself, in exchange for an honest and an unbiased review of this book. I would like to say a MASSIVE thank you to David Meredith for this Amazon Gift. This is the first time anyone has ever bought me anything as a gift like this on Amazon, a family, friend, author or anyone to review a book for them 🙂 so that is awesome!!!

Have you ever wondered, or been curious, about what happened to some of your favourite fairy-tale characters after the ‘happily ever after’? Well, wonder no more, at least with the case of Snow White and her Prince Charming. Sadly however, their happy ending didn’t last, as this book begins with Queen Snow White being trapped, this time it is within herself as she is locked in a depression after the death of Prince Charming. Every part of the castle is bursting with people and full of reminders of life shared with her one true love that she has now lost and is not going to get back. Desperate for alone time, she enters a part of the castle that has long been shut off and forgotten about, as it was used by the old Queen and Evil Witch who cause so much pain to Snow White’s life. Here, Snow White discovers the Magic Mirror and this story really begins. . .

This is only my second every fairy-tale retelling story that I have every read, and I’m not sure if this book would really count as a re-telling, but anyway, I loved this book!! I never really grew up on reading fairy-tales and watching Disney films, my house and my family were not really that type of family, which has lead me to start watching the classic Disney films now. Yes, I was sadly 20 years old before I watched The Lion King and 22 when I first watched The Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast, which is now my favourite Disney film, so far. Snow White is the most known fairy-tale of all, in my opinion; with the magic mirror, evil queen, Snow White, seven dwarfs, poisoned apple, Prince Charming’s loving kiss awakens her from her slumber, and so on. I loved how this storyline allowed us to see some of the major important parts that have occurred throughout of Snow Whites entire life, even before she met Prince Charming, in a very strong, powerful and vivid way. We get to see how her life was while living in the castle with the Evil Queen and how she was treated and why she escaped. The way this storyline was created to allow for readers to discover the now Queen Snow White’s life, is amazing and I love how the Magic Mirror is used and added in to do this, and is the perfect way to also create an amazing story.

This book and how it is written is fantastic. The writing style is one of my favourite aspects about this book, as it is written so eloquently and David Meredith enables you to be able to imagine everything so clearly. It is so easy to read and you just don’t want to put it down, but to keep turning that page and discover something new about someone, who has been apart of your life since you were a child. This time around, it is like it is a fairy-tale, but targeted and aimed for adults, but a more realistic, real world fairy-tale!! But will this book have an happy ending? It so beautifully written, that I loved so many of the sentences and have highlighted them in my copy for quotes and things I can use, because they are just so amazing. I would love to just spend the day posting quotes from this book.

There were a couple of editing issues, but I mean only a couple. There may have been more, but I didn’t notice because I was so into the book and reading it, that I had just bypassed them. This is quite easily a one sitting read, as you just don’t want to stop reading and discovering the past and future of Snow White’s life, before and after the whole incident with the dwarfs and the story we all already know. I would therefore definitely recommend this book highly, regardless if you’ve read Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (because I haven’t), and that’s why I have rated it a MASSIVE 5 out of 5 stars!!!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Reflections of Queen Snow White – David Meredith

    • ShayneysReviews says:

      It really was! It was an unexpected surprise, which may have added to why I loved it. It was something that was so unique and simply done at the same time and was written perfectly to add to it. This is just all my own opinion of course, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

