My Goodreads Giveaway Win!

2016-06-03_17.26.09.jpg

Hello my fellow readers and blogging buddies. I have been lucky enough to win yet another Goodreads Giveaway. This time I have won a first-edition, paw printed autographed copy of Rum & Coke by Jaxy Mono. I’m not 100% sure what a paw printed autograph is, as the hand print inside the book is quite small. It is so amazing and unbelievable to win a first-edition copy of a book, let alone an autographed copy on top of that, autographed in whatever form.

I am going to be completely honest with you all and say that if I saw this book in a bookshop or on Amazon, I don’t think I would buy it. This is completely because of the books cover, which doesn’t instantly shout out to me as a BUY ME NOW! book, or rather a PICK ME UP book. I don’t like the real people on the cover, which denies me the opportunity to use my own imagination to create the characters fresh in my mind, as I’ve already had this image to compare to now. The cover also doesn’t give me any hint towards what the story may be about, which can also be said about the title of the book itself. But you know the saying, never judge a book by its cover, so lets look at the description of the book and discover what’s hidden within the depth of the pages of this book.

This is the description taken directly from Goodreads:
“Imagine being kidnapped in a forbidden country whose language you don’t speak – and there’s no way home.

When a strait-laced American TV reporter is sent on assignment to Cuba, he is determined to keep out of trouble. But everything changes when he crosses paths with a beautiful and dangerous Cuban chica who calls herself Calypso.

Ulysses wakes up in handcuffs. His head pounding and his mouth gagged with his own tie, he desperately tries to recall what happened. Now, without his wallet or even his passport, Ulysses is at the mercy of his kidnapper.

Insisting that she is in the power of a Santeria love-goddess, Calypso forces Ulysses into the trunk of a 1958 Cadillac convertible at gunpoint. Then she drives him away from Havana, deeper into the heart of her forbidden island.

Uncertain if Calypso is a violent political activist, a common criminal, or simply insane, Ulysses knows he must find a way to escape – and soon. But he finds himself falling for his kidnapper…

Rum & Coke is a crazily off-kilter love story, and a modern odyssey of revenge, devotion and desire; but most of all it is simply the tale of a gringo, a chica, a Caddy, and a love-goddess…”

 Now I wouldn’t have expected that from this cover and from a little book entitled, Rum & Coke! There sounds like there is going to be so much excitement and so much happening in this little book, which is only about 262 pages. It defiantly sounds like it’s going to be an interesting read, especially after reading certain parts and seeing how this author writes, I have already laughed and found his style very funny. The best part is, it wasn’t even about the actual story, but the boring parts that most people don’t read, such as About The Author section and even the copyright page. Seriously, I laughed at the copyright page. Here’s what it says;

“It’s a work of fiction; that is, by definition, a pack of lies. No reference to actual people, politicians, islands, or deities is intended or should be inferred. Honestly.”

and

“No goats or chickens were sacrifice in the writing of this book.”

So I am defiantly liking his writing style and find it very funny and it is right up my street. I think this book may be a surprise and be unexpected, because I still don’t know what to fully expect from it, from the storyline and the writing style, but it will be fun to find out. The author does have other books and also has his own website, if you want are interested and want to go and check him or his books out, http://www.jaxymono.com.

2016-06-03_17.25.32

One thought on “My Goodreads Giveaway Win!

Leave a Reply

