My Goodreads Giveaway Win!

2016-06-03_17.27.15

Wow!! I am truly amazed by this Goodreads Giveaway Win, and yes, the surname may be sounding familiar to you all. This book No Man’s Land, is in fact written by J.R.R. Tolkien’s grandson Simon Tolkien and I am so excited to have been lucky enough to have won and received this Uncorrected Proof Copy. It does state that this book is to honour his grandfather, J.R.R. Tolkien, who fought on the Somme between July and October 1916 and was inspired by his experiences in the battlefields when writing. This was completely brand new information for me about Tolkien as I never knew that he had fought in Somme.

This book isn’t meant to be released until 30th June 2016, (my birthday :P), but it’s already generating some amazing reviews from some great publications; such as The Times, USA Today, Washington Post and so on. So it looks like writing runs in the family. I’m actually so excited to own this book!! Especially now I’ve decided to read The Lord of the Rings trilogy. I hope that Simon can stand out from being the grandson of J.R.R. Tolkien and make his own reputation, which it seems like he’s on his way to doing with the reviews and praise he’s currently getting.

So what’s this book about I hear you asking? Well, here is the description from inside the book:

Adam Raine is a boy cursed by misfortune. His impoverished childhood in the slums of Islington is brought to an end by a tragedy that sends him north to Scarsdale, a hard-living coalmining town where his father finds work as a union organizer. But it isn’t long before the escalating tensions between the miners and their employer, Sir John Scarsdale, explode with terrible consequences.

In the aftermath, Adam meets Miriam, the Rector’s beautiful daughter, and moves into Scarsdale Hall, an opulent paradise compared with the life he has been used to before. But he makes an enemy of Sir John’s son, Brice, who subjects him to endless petty cruelties for daring to step above his station.

When love and an Oxford education beckon, Adam feels that his life is finally starting to come together – until the outbreak of war threatens to tear everything apart.

From the slums of London to the riches of an Edwardian country house; from the hot, dark seams of a Yorkshire coalmine to the exposed terrors of the trenches, Adam Raine’s journey from boy to man is set against the backdrop of a society violently entering the modern world.

Sound enticing to you? Did you know that J.R.R. Tolkien fought in Somme? Such an amazing surprise to come home to.

5 thoughts on “My Goodreads Giveaway Win!

    • ShayneysReviews says:

      Thank you! ☺
      I think he’s run it a few times because I’ve entered it at least twice because I was that interested in this book. I even added it my my “To Read” list after the first giveaway, even though I was unsuccessful, which was how I got notified about the second Giveaway. It is a big book, with over 600 pages, so it may take me a while to read it, but I am really excited.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

