Review: Dear Amy – Helen Callaghan

Dear Amy - Helen Callaghan
****

I received this eARC thanks to Netgalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review of this book.

I have to include the books actual description, instead of creating my own version as this is the reason for me requesting to read this book from Netgalley. When you read it, you will see it. So here is the description taken directly from Goodreads:

“Margot Lewis is the agony aunt for The Cambridge Examiner. Her advice column, Dear Amy, gets all kinds of letters – but none like the one she’s just received:

Dear Amy,
I don’t know where I am. I’ve been kidnapped and am being held prisoner by a strange man. I’m afraid he’ll kill me.
Please help me soon,
Bethan Avery

Bethan Avery has been missing for years. This is surely some cruel hoax. But, as more letters arrive, they contain information that was never made public. How is this happening? Answering this question will cost Margot everything . . .”

What would you do if you received a letter like that? I just had to request to read it and was soooo happy when I had an email saying that my request was successful. YAY!! I just needed to read this book and discover everything. So where to start without giving away any spoilers…

You get told this book from several different characters perspectives, which I always really enjoy and love reading in a book. It’s the best way to really get to know each of the individual characters the best way possible, in my opinion that is. You get to hear the story told from their own point of view, discovering multiple stories for the same exact scene and different views. You get to see the truth. Especially if the main character wasn’t present at the crucial time, you have another view into the story. Of course you have Margot Lewis, who is the main narrative and whose perspective you see used the most throughout of this story, as it is she who starts receiving these letters and believes them to be more than just a hoax. We also get to see part of the story told from Katie’s point of view, but only small glimpses. I will admit that throughout the whole of the book, it was these few and short chapters in Katie’s perspective, that were my favourite chapters to read. They were suspenseful and psychologically thrilling, which is what the book had promised and it honestly had me worried about her. Even though I wanted sooo much more of these and so much more from Katie because of this, I think that if I did, I wouldn’t have liked it has that may have been too much and maybe this is the perfect example of what you don’t see or read.

This book is promised and advertised to be a big psychological suspense, but I personally didn’t find it that thrilling or unnerving. In the beginning of the book however, I did start off doubting all of the characters, feeling like I couldn’t trust any of them and that they weren’t who they said they were and therefore couldn’t be trusted, as though I was Margot herself. So in that sense, there was some kind of unknowing and unreliability in this book. This theme did carry on throughout the book as I did have very strong doubts about a good chunk of the characters, not knowing who could be trusted and if anyone had other motives.

There were parts in this book that just took me by surprise and knocked me off guard completely. I genuinely, still not knowing if I could trust certain characters at this time, didn’t even know if I could suddenly trust this new and shocking information that was being provided to me! That is something that was great about this book, that even when I was provided with everything, I was still questioning it.

The whole idea behind this book is something different and exciting, both of the concepts. The first one is the whole idea of writing to an agony aunt for help and trying to find a missing girl who has been missing for so many years, is amazing. And using that old case to hopefully find a new girl who has recently gone missing.  It was that aspect that drew me into this book. Again, what would you do if you received a letter like that? The second aspect, I’m not going to share as you will have to read the book to discover it. I’m pretty you’ll know what concept I mean if you read this book. If you have read this book, no spoilers please, but did you expect that twist or see it coming, because I defiantly did not?

Overall, I did enjoy this book and I would recommend it. Be warned for it to not live up to the psychological suspense thriller hype, but that could just be me. But you are warned and please don’t let that stop you. For that reason I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

