May Book Haul 2016

This month has been a very busy month for buying, winning and receiving books. I know I said that I wasn’t going to be buying books until I have read a massive chunk of the books that I already own, but I have won a few Goodreads Giveaway, plus there was a book fair and I just couldn’t say no to some other books after reading some great reviews. Please forgive me, because I honestly dont feel bad at all. Just like my previous hauls, I’m not going to be including my Netgalley, Story Cartel or eBooks that authors haves sent me, as I do reviews of all of those books and these hauls would be MASSIVE. Even more so than this one is already going to be. So lets get to what we are all really here for and lets see and explore all of the books I’ve bought and/or won this month…. Be prepared because this is going to be a long one!

Books I Purchased At The Book Fair:

image

These are all the books that I bought at the book fair this month, which weren’t as many as I thought I was going to buy, especially compared to last year. After all, I was on a book ban 😜 So in no particular order….

A Passage To India – E. M. Forster

image

Look at how beautiful this cover is! I have heard of this book before, but shamefully I had no idea what it was about, and really still don’t, but look at its cover, plus the best part, it was only 20p!! So, so cheap. I do love book fairs, so what if they are used books. Now for the books blurb:

What did happen to Miss Quested in the Marabar Caves?
This tantalizing question provides the intense drama at the centre of Foster’s last and greatest novel, which explores racial tension in colonial India.

After a mysterious incident during their visit to the Marabar Caves, the charming Dr Aziz is accused of assaulting Adela Quested, a naïve young English woman.  As he is brought to trial the fragile structure of Anglo-Indian relations collapses and the racism inherent in colonialism is exposed – a theme which still has powerful, dangerous realities today.

Yet the novel is also, in Forster’s words, ‘about something wider than politics… about the universe as embodied in the Indian earth and the Indian sky'”.

Beautiful Creatures (Book 1) – Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

image

Of course I have heard great things about both this book series and the movie adaptations. I have personally never had any massive, great, need or incentive to want to read this series as it’s never been even been on my tbr list, or to watch list. But after seeing it and actually reading the blurb, I thought it was definitely worth picking up. So here’s the book blurb:

IS FALLING IN LOVE THE BEGINNING… OR THE END?

In Ethan Wate’s hometown there lies the darkness of secrets…

THERE IS A GIRL.
Slowly, she pulled the hood from her head. Green eyes, black hair, Lena Duchy nines.

THERE IS A CURSE.
On the sixteenth moon, the sixteenth year, the book will take what it’s been promised.
And no one can stop it.

IN THE END, THERE IS A GRAVE.
Lena and Ethan become bound together by a deep, powerful love. But Lena is cursed and on her sixteenth birthday her fate will be decided.

ETHAN NEVER EVEN SAW IT COMING.”

Hide – Lisa Gardner

image

This was a completely new author for me and a book I picked up soley because of its blurb on the back of the book. It’s sounds thrilling, which we know is my type of book. Another great reason why I love book fairs, as you get to discover and buy books by new authors for such a cheap price. Now this is why I bought this book:

‘I can’t afford to come back from the dead…’

Annabelle Grange has spent her life on the run, her childhood a blur of new places and fresh aliases. Now thirty years old, she is living quietly in Boston – until she opens the morning paper and finds herself declared dead dead.

At an abandoned mental institute, the bodies of six girls have been discovered. And one of them is wearing Annabelle’s locket. Working with detective Bobby Dodge to unravel a decades-old riddle, Annabelle embanks on a desperate collision course with her past – where a killer has been waiting years to find her, and there’s no place to hide.” 

The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings Book 1) – J.R.R. Tolkien

image

Okay. Please don’t hate me. I have never read any of the Lord of the Rings books. *hiding away*. I have only recently read The Hobbit and I was actually disappointed because of how much I loved the film’s! But, when I saw this only copy available, and for only 50p each, I wanted to join the other half of the world who have read The Lord of the Rings trilogy and not just marvelled at the amazing movies. As if most of you dont already know, here is the book blurb for the first book, The Fellowship of the Ring:

The first part of J.R.R. Tolkien’s epic adventure THE LORD OF THE RINGS

In a sleepy village in the Shire, a young hobbit is entrusted with an immense task. He must make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ruling Ring of Power – the only thing that prevents the Dark Lord Sauron’s evil dominion.

Thus begins J.R.R. Tolkien’s classic tale of adventure, which continues in The Two Towers and The Return of the King.”

The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings Book 2) – J.R.R. Tolkien

image

It may not match the cover, or even be published in the same decade as the first book, but hey, as long as I’m able to read them, that’s all that matters in the end. Plus this version also just happens to be a third edition copy for only 50p. Not so bad, right.

The Return of the King (The Lord of the Rings Book 3) – J.R.R. Tolkien

image

This is the finally book in the Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Return of the King, which matches the second book in the series that I bought, again a third edition and for only 50p. That’s the whole trilogy for only £1.50. My lucky day, especially as two of them are third editions. Plus, these were the only Lord of the Rings books that were there, so I was lucky to get them

The Magical Worlds of the Lord of the Rings – David Colbert

image

To round up my ‘Lord of the Rings’ theme that’s seems to be going on here, I came across this book that seemed really interesting. I originally bought it as a gift for someone who was a massive LOTR fan, but they read it within like an hour and left it at my house afterwards, saying they’ve already read it. That now that I plan on reading the trilogy, that I may now want to read it when I finish the books. I’ve had a flick through and it’s really interesting. Stuff like where Tolkien interest in languages came from and so on.

The Magical Worlds of The Lord of the Rings tells the stories behind Tolkien’s stories. From dwarves and elves to King Arthur and Beowulf, the book explores the ancient myths and legends that inspired Tolkien,  as well as the ideas and events that sparked his incredible imagination.”

Cujo – Stephen King 

image

I love Stephen King!!. And I have heard great things about this book.nlike so, so many. It comes up so many times, that it actually irritates me that I don’t already own this book, amongst my numerous other Stephen King book I have on my book shelves. So what’s this book about I hear you ask. Here is its terrifyingly enticing blurb:

Once upon a time, not so long ago, a monster came to the small town of Castle Rock, Maine. . . He was not a werewolf, vampire, ghoul, or unnameable creature from the enchanted forest or snow wastes; he was only a cop. . .

Cujo is a huge Saint Bernard dog, the best friend Brett Camber has ever had. Then one day Cujo chases a rabbit into a bolt – hole.  Except it isn’t a rabbit warren any more. It is a cave inhabited by rabid bats.

And Cujo falls sick. Very sick. And the gentle giant who once protected the family becomes a vortex of horror inexorably drawing in all the people around him.”

So that sums up all of the books that I bought at the book fair. There were only a few, so it’s not really that bad, plus how can you serious say no, considering how cheap most of those books were! Now for some more of the books I’ve bought or got through a Goodreads Giveaway. I did warn that this was going to be a long post.

Other Books I’ve Bought This Month:

image

I only bought three other books this month. Two were all over EVERY WHERE! And I really do mean every where. The other book made up an offer of 2 books for £7 deal, so of course I am going to take that deal! So lets get to it.

The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins

image

This is the first book that I bought this month, which I purchased from Amazon. I have heard and read so much about this book, even that it’s now being turned into a movie. So of course I’ve read about this books description and countless reviews. So for anyone who hasn’t, here is the blurb for this book:

EVERY DAY THE SAME. UNTIL TODAY.

Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens.

She’s even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses. Their life – as she sees it – is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy.

And then she sees something shocking, and in one moment everything changes.

Now Rachel has a chance to become a part of the lives she’s only watched for afar.

Now they’ll see: she’s much more than just the girl on the train. . .

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

image

I am going to be completely honest with you all. I saw the movie  trailer, that is taken from this book, months ago and instantly fell in love! This was before the whole massive fandom began with this book. Then, it was only recently, because I completely forgot the name of the film, when I saw the movie trailer again, it all clicked and I completely understood the craze everyone’s been having with this book. And that’s from a 2 minute movie trailer! I can’t wait to read this book and discover it all for myself. So, lets now look at the book blurb:

Lou Clark knows lots of things.
She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now, and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.”

Finders Keepers – Stephen King

image

I picked up this book as an extra book, as a 2 for £7 deal with Me Before You from an Asda supermarket, when out shopping one day. But come on, it’s Stephen King! Haven’t we already been through this already 😜

1978: Morris Bellamy is a reader so obsessed by America’s iconic author John Rothstein that he is prepared to kill for a trove of notebooks containing at least one more unpublished novel.

2009: Pete Saubers, a boy whose father was brutally injured by a stolen Mercedes, discovers a buried trunk containing cash and Rothstein’s notebooks.

2014: After thirty – five years in prison, Morris is up for parole. And he’s hell-bent on recovering his trestle. 

Now it’s up to retired detective Bill Hodges – running an investigative company called ‘Finders Keepers’ – to rescue Pete from an ever – more deranged and vengeful Morris. . .

So that’s round two. If you’re still here and reading this, thank you and yay!! Now we only have one more group of books to look at, which are my Goodreads Giveaway books that I have won this month.

Goodreads Giveaway Wins This Month:

image

These are the Goodreads Giveaway books that I have been lucky enough to have won this month. I have created posts for each of these books individually, which will be linked in with each of the books, but because of this, I will only be including the books name, author, blurb and link to the main post with more detail. So here we go.

The Trap – Melanie Raabe

image

“He knows what happened that night and she wrote a book about it but, when the doorbell rings, neither of them can be sure how the story will end.

Twelve years ago, Linda’s sister Anna was murdered. Her killer was never caught, but Linda saw him. Now, all these years on, she’s just seen him again. On TV.

He has since become a well-known reporter, and Linda – a famous novelist and infamous recluse – knows no one will believe her if she accuses him. So Linda does the only thing she can think of: she writes a thriller about a woman who is murdered, her killer never caught. When the book is published, she agrees to give just one media interview.

At home.

To the one person who knows more about the case than she does.” 

Click here for the Goodreads Giveaway Win post.

The Resurrection of Frédéric Debreu – Alex Marsh

image

Who wants a respectable retirement, anyway?
Not Ted Prescott, genial visitor to Mailliot le Bois, here on an impulsive mission to seek out his past whilst heroically diminishing the sleepy French town’s stocks of red wine.
But once the locals discover Ted’s authentic renditions of regional hero Frederic Debreu’s songs, life is suddenly not so straightforward for the stage-shy Derbyshire guitar-maker.
Reluctantly persuaded that he might help put their town back on the map, Ted finds himself billed as humble French farm labourer ‘Edouard Prescote’. Nonplussed, as his self-conscious performances strike a chord, Ted finds himself drawn into a web of well-intentioned deceit that he finds increasingly hard to unravel.
Haunted by the loss of his missing brother, and with the hopes of an entire community riding on him, it soon becomes clear that there are other, more important things that he hasn’t mentioned to his loved ones. . . “

Click here for the Goodreads Giveaway Win post.

Nina Is Not Ok – Shappi Khorsandi

image

“NINA DOES NOT HAVE A DRINKING PROBLEM.
She likes a drink, sure.
But what 17-year-old doesn’t? 

And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her…”

Click here for the Goodreads Giveaway Win post.
Click here for my Review of Nina Is Not Ok

Lake of Shadows – Martha Harris

image

“Just like her mother, Meg Wolfe has a special power. She’s a psychic, but she’s also a psychiatrist. Not only can she see and talk to spirits, but she is also capable of learning things about people through the power of touch – which actually comes in handy during counseling sessions. Then, she meets Zeus Garrett. 

They seem deeply connected, although Meg isn’t sure how. Together, they solve a murder involving a child she counsels, but working in such close proximity creates feelings in both of them. Soon, they’re passionately in love, but it seems solving murders is much easier than being Zeus’s paramour.

Not only does Zeus have commitment issues stemming from a past life, but also Meg believes his heart belongs to someone else. When she adopts two children she and Zeus had in a past life, she hopes their connection will only strengthen. Instead, she’s left to wonder if she will raise young Jasmine and Christopher alone – again.”

Click here for the Goodreads Giveaway Win post.

So that was my Book Haul for the month of May. Thank you if you read it all the way through, or if you even just skimmed it to the end. Believe me, it has taken me hours to write up this whole post, and my laptops broke so I’ve had to do it ALL on my tablet. Each and every word! No copy and pasting. So I wonder what will happen between now and June’s Book Haul, but until then, I have some reading to do. Yay!! :mrgreen:☺ Happy reading everyone. . .

4 thoughts on “May Book Haul 2016

    • ShayneysReviews says:

      The Hobbit was a let down sadly, after having high expectations. Thank you 😀 I’m actually really looking forward to reading them for the first time, even if it may take me a while, I’m just hoping they’re not a let down, but I’ve only heard great things. It may take me a while, but I will get there! Thank you again 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • ShayneysReviews says:

      I love the movies. I have even movie marathoned them all, which was a very long night, but there was pizza so double yay!! 😀 Yeah I’ve heard so, so many great reviews about The Girl on the Train, so I can’t wait to read it!! It may sneak it’s way into my holiday bag 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

