Discussion: Book to Movie Adaptations

image

I have a little bit of a confession to make with today’s post. I don’t know if any of you have the same “problem” as I do, but I hope to find out, so please don’t feel shy about commenting. I’ve come to a little bit of a realisation lately that when it comes to watching films that are based on books, particularly those films based on books that I really want to read before watching the movie, I may have a slight problem. I have stacks and stacks of unread books on my TBR list that are soley under one category, book to movie adaptations. The worse part is, I will not allow myself to watch the movie before I have read the book first, otherwise, it will spoil the book for me. So not only is my book TBR pile stacking up, but my unwatched movie pile is also piling up. Now you can understand my frustration when there are more and more films these days coming out that are based on book to movie adaptations. Now if I don’t know beforehand, then there’s nothing I can do about it, but of course read the book afterwards, then I get all the extra information from the book and maybe be surprised, like I was with My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. No spoilers, but, I watched the film, then read the book and I was definitely surprised. Wow!

Sometimes, reading the books beforehand spoils my experience of the movie, because of all of the things that they miss out and change, plus you know EVERYTHING!. And you know they’re going to miss out or mess up you’re favourite part, plus the actors they choose look nothing like the characters they’ve described! But if you watch the movie first, and you see all the twist and turns and everything in between and it completely spoils and ruins the book for me. The movie is less than two hours, whereas the book can last as long as you can make it last and I feel more connected to the characters and experience more of the story with the book. But after that hour and half/two hours, the movies over and done with. Then, it makes you wonder, sometimes, is there any point in still reading the book after all, you know majority of the storyline, the plot, the characters, the twists and turns etc. Yes, there’s going to be more in a book, which is why im a MASSIVE fan and believer of the book over the movie, but if you already know most of the it and it’s all been spoiled, is there any real reason to truly read this book, when you could read a new book that you have NO spoilers about? I’ve always choosen a new book, which is why I rarely re-read a book, when there’s so many new books out there to read. Saying that, I have still read the book after watching the movie, but I always picture the actors instead of the characters and always compare the book to the movie, not fully enjoying the book as much as I would have otherwise.

Here are just a few of the books that are on my “movie” TBR list, waiting for me to read:
●The Help – Kathryn Stockett
●The Misery – Stephen King
●Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
●The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky
●Life of Pi – Yann Martel
●Water For Elephants – Sara Gruen
●The Lucky One – Nicholas Sparks
●The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins
And so many more….

How about you? Do you watch the movie if you know that you have the book to read, or are going to be reading the book? What’s your opinion? Plus, what are some of the books on your movie TBR list?

5 thoughts on “Discussion: Book to Movie Adaptations

  1. jessicasblog45 says:

    I have read Girl on the Train. It was good. But I doubt the movie will be as good as the book. I try to read the book before seeing the movie. But I do suggest do not see the Maze Runner movies. The movies aren’t as good as the books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ShayneysReviews says:

      I have read all of The Maze Runner books, but I did watch the first movie first and then read the books because I couldn’t wait for the rest of the film’s to come out to find out what was going to happen. I definitely agree that the first book was way better and when I went to watch the second film, after reading the book, I knocked the film off after less than twenty minutes because it was annoying me so much. It was just SO SO different and I couldn’t watch it, and still haven’t to this date!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

