Review: The Rose Killer – Gary Pearson

image

****
I received this book for free thanks to Story Cartel in exchange for an honest and unbiased review of this book.

This short story or novella, is about a serial killer, was has been strangling blonde women for the past three years, yet he is only known to the police and the public as The Rose Killer, for the single red rose that he leaves on the his victims. He is yet to be caught, there have’t been any leads or clues and there hasn’t been a new body in eight months. Now that’s about to change. The Rose Killer has decided he wants to play a game with Detective Ian Harlow! Can Detective Harlow catch The Rose Killer before it’s too late? And why the sudden interest in Harlow?

This novella wasn’t that long, being only roughly 115 pages, yet I was still able to get fully gripped and emensend into this story. There were some great characters that were developed in such a short space of pages, including a great story and a plot. It was also greatly written and the killer took me by surprise and it all seemed well thought out and developed brilliantly. I was gripped by mystery of it all. Why the sudden change of the murder, by taunting the police? What was his plan? Was he going to get caught? Why his interest in Harlow? Then with me asking myself all of these questions, I never saw the end coming, taking me by shock, which I loved.

The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars, instead of 5 stars (which I wanted to), is because this seems like a brilliant outline, and even though this was executed great, I would have loved it if this was longer and was a 300+ page book. It has everything it needs to make it happen and it would have just made it that extra bit perfect.

I would definitely recommend this book!! Especially if you love mystery, thriller and crime books. How you read this book? What do you think? Do you agree or disagree? Comment below 😀

Leave a Reply

