Review: Lilith’s Garden of Clarity (Unforeseen Beings Book 2) – N.L. Johnson

****
I received a free digital unedited ARC of Lilith’s Garden of Clarity from the author in exchange for a honest and unbiased review of this book.

This is the second book in the Unforeseen Beings Novella Series and this is by far my favourite book in the series so far. This novella continues on from Lilith’s Garden of Madness and picks up from where it left off, so you will definitely have to read the first one before deciding to read this one. Now how do I give you a little description of this book without giving any or too many spoilers of the first book in this series? I think I’ll leave that to the author herself and give you the Goodreads description, that way I’m limiting the risk of giving away too may spoilers.
“The world of the patient locked in Room 102 is falling apart as she knew it. While searching for Hannah and trying to figure out how she will save the former young Kelton nurse, she begins to discover what she can do but will she ever figure out who she really is? With the help of others at Kelton, the patient once forgotten will unlock more answers and even more questions. Enter back through the doors of Kelton Mental Institution and continue to uncover the truth of what has been hidden away down the South Hall of untreatables. Join the madness.”

I have read and reviewed the first book in this series, if you would like to check it out and you will see that I wasn’t a massive fan of it, only rating it 3 out of 5 stars, but this book was massively better. I had some of my questions answered from the first book, I have started understanding the storyline, the characters and I’m even connecting with one of the characters, in a weird way. I feel, as a reader, like one of the characters, who is slowly learning everything about the world she is living in from other characters in this book. So has she is slowly discovering more and more about everything, me, or us as the reader, will also learn more and more about the world that we are reading about. It’s this way that I feel connected to her, both discovering everything with brand new eyes.

It’s so brilliant and unique, plus not overly chucked in your face that it’s like a perfect balance. There are still questions, but now they are questions that make me want to keep reading to discover and find everything out, not questions out of frustration, which I’m loving. There is a darkness to the book when reading it, a darkness from different perspectives, which is fantastic when you think that light and darkness is one of the topics of this series. There was one point which actually did give me chills, which was a first for me when reading and I’ve been looking for books to do that, that’s how engrossed this book got me.

I did receive an unedited ARC version of this book, so of course there were editing mistakes and issues which I was expecting and warned about, so these problems are not even going to be thought about when it comes to me deciding my rating of this book. I simply bypassed them all as I was so engrossed in the story in front of me.

With how this book has been ended, it just left me screaming “Noooo!!!” and wanting more, needing to read book 3 in this series straight away, which is a completely different reaction to the first book. I am giving this second novella in the series an improved 4 out of 5 stars, compared to the first book, with a definite recommendation! You do have to read the first book to understand this one, as they are not stand alone books, but I’m actually enjoying this series, which if you’ve read my review of the first book is a complete turn around. I’m saving my 5 stars because this series is getting better and I’m only on book 2 and now I’m understanding this series. Roll on book 3 ☺

One thought on “Review: Lilith’s Garden of Clarity (Unforeseen Beings Book 2) – N.L. Johnson

Leave a Reply

