Review: Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon

image

**** (4.5 stars)

This is a book about a girl named Maddy, who has to live her life in a bubble, unable to leave the house as she is allergic to the world. She has classes taught to her online, reads, reads and reads some more and watches the world pass by her outside her bedroom window, a world that she can’t be apart of. The only people she is actually in contact with are her mum, her nurse Carla and her tutor, all whom which have to be tested first to ensure they have nothing that cane be passed along to Maddie and infect her, then they have to be decontamanated before entering the house. Even her house has special air fiers for Maddies own protection. Maddy had accepted this, until a new family moves in next door, then everything changes…

Let me first start off by saying that I really wanted to give this book a massive 5 star rating, but I sadly had to take off half a star because of how Nicola came about creating the ending which was a disappointment to me. And I emphasise to me because other people may enjoy and like the way this book ends. That is why I couldn’t give this book the 5 stars I so desperately wanted to and planned on giving it, before I got to that part.

I loved this book and it was a very easy and quick to read and also hard for me to put down. The way the chapters are all set up and written, the drawings and illustrations included, was why this book was so easy, fun and such an enjoyable book. The chapters are short and the layout of this book and how its presented is so different and unique. This is one of the few books that actually made me laugh out loud while reading it, while also being emotional at times.

There are spoilers to other books included so beware in case you want to read those books, as Maddy is a massive reader! What else is there to do when you’re stuck inside all the time? Kind of made me jealous of all the books she read. I know that’s bad right?. Anyways, she does a book review tumbler site where she post spoilers, so beware! It does say spoiler before it, so there is some warning.

I was just a little disappointed by the ending, which from other reviews, I can see that I am not the only one. It reminds me of a film I’ve seen, which I’m not going to say because it may spoil it for people and I hate spoilers. But other than that, I loved it. I even read the acknowledgment and thought it was amazing that Nicola wrote the book and that her husband David created the illustrations within this book, which is amazing :D!!

I definitely recommend this book and have already lent it out to friends!! 4.5 out of 5 stars, just short of being 5. I even argued with myself and even considered still giving this book 5 because of how much I enjoyed it, but then compromised by giving it 4.5, because it’s definitely better than four stars.

Have you read this book? What do you think? Do you agree or disagree? Comment below πŸ˜€

4 thoughts on “Review: Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

