Review: Who’s That Girl? – Mhairi McFarlane

image

****
I would like to thank NetGalley, the author and publisher for my free copy of this book, in exchange for my honest and unbiased review of this book.

When Edie is caught in a very compromising position at the wedding reception, with the husband of the newly married couple, who are also friends and colleagues’ of Edie, all the blame falls on her. Shamed and ostracised, in reality but especially online, Edie takes some time and heads back to Nottingham, with help from her boss Richard, to ghostwrite an autobiography for a hot new acting talent, Elliot Owen, while things cool down. But now she still has to deal with text outcome from the wedding, being back home with the family she moved away from and being around this actor who comes with a massive ego.

Apart of me kept putting this book off for some reason, even though I had a deadline to read this book by. The first time I started reading it, I read the first ten pages and stopped, choosing to read something else instead. Let me say that I am not a massive romance reader, mainly because in my opinion, they all end the same, with them getting together, so you know there’s going to be a happy ending, etc. So I went into reading this with that in mind.

When I actually started reading this again, it completely knocked my preconceptions and I was actually enjoying it. I didn’t want to put it down. It wasn’t necessarily a romance book as much as a discovering yourself first and then once you know who you are, then you can find someone who can then see you for who you are and more importantly, are happy with who you are. About self discovery in a way. There were other kinds of relationships that were developed and expressed throughout this entire book, apart from romance. The relationships between family members; siblings, parents and children, biological or adopted, even friendship, whether true or fake friendship.

There are serious issues expressed within this book that do affect people in really life, adults included, even if we do on hear about some happening with school age children and teenagers. This book shows how easy news spreads and how easy it is to get to and bully somebody using social media sites, even if you don’t even know that person, or any of the people involved. It highlights in a very good way and I think that Edie deals with it in the best way, which is how everyone should deal with it, which may be a SPOILER!!! To the book but she deletes them all!! Simples 🙂 and sorry for the spoiler, but it’s only a small spoiler really.

Another sensitive topic discussed in this book is about depression and the effects that depression can have on an individual and on the people and family surrounding that person. I think that the more that mental health is being more openly discussed the better, regardless if it’s constantly being used in books, TV etc, because it means it’s becoming more normal and open for people to talk about. This book doesn’t use it as a way to just add to the book, but as somebody was as a relative who as recently tried and thankfully failed to commit suicide because of depression, some parts of what was said, did make me think a little bit more about how they might be thinking.

Parts of me liked but hated the ending!! I liked that it was actually more realistic and it completely was actually 100% Edie and her character, with everything her character had been through throughout the book and to be where is now, which I understand. The part I didn’t like, was how it actually ended, like a cliff-hanger, not telling me and having me to guess who or….. and if you’ve read other reviews of mine, I hate questions at the end. I don’t want to think OMG is it? Could it be? I want to be told straight up Yes it is!! So just for that fact, I dropped it a whole star, because it annoyed me.

I would definitely recommend this book! A romance book that’s more than just a romance book. 4 out of 5 stars. Do you agree or disagree? What do you think? Comment below 😀

Leave a Reply

