Review: Cold – Melissa Silvery

****
I was sent an unedited beta copy of this book to read in order to help the author, in exchange for my honest review and opinion of the book so far, keeping in mind that it is an unedited beta copy.

The description of this book was full of mystery, which of course, instantly intrigued me and drew me in to the book. My love of mystery won me over once again!. I needed to know what this book was about, especially when all the author was saying was, “this book is full of secrets, so much so that I can’t really tell you much about it” and then there are other little hints, such as, you must be 18+ to read it. So how can I review this book, without giving away too many spoilers?

This is a story told from one persons point of view, Arabella Nelson, a 28 year lawyer, living in New York. Arabella suffered a loss before she was born, a loss that she has spent her whole life building towards putting right, no matter what the cost might be. Vengeance must be paid. But does it all go according to plan when she first meets Nikolia at a bar?

I know, I know. That’s not a very detailed description, but I don’t want to give anything away, especially if the author herself doesn’t want to give anything away! I liked the fact that this story was told from just one point of view, as it’s been a while since I’ve read a story with just one persons perspective and it was actually quite refreshing. I did find myself wondering what the other characters were thinking, wondering what they were thinking, but that just made it better for me, drawing me into the character more, as I was able to feel for her more, not knowing what the other characters were thinking or feeling.

This story contains so much and it isn’t just a romance or erotica book, but it has action, crime, excitement and even revelations in it, that can take over the main theme of the book. 

It did need some more editing, which I knew before reading it, so I didn’t take that into account. When I finished reading this story, I did have one or two questions left unanswered, which I have expressed to the author and as this book is still in the editing stages, there may be time to still answer these questions. They are only small questions, but still questions that left me wondering and yearning for answers.

There may be a lot of romance and erotica books out there and coming out nowadays, especially after 50 shades, but I like how this one was different and stood out, for me anyways. It possessed elements that I haven’t read, combining together to create this piece of work.

The copy that I received was 111 pages long, but once editing is done and it is released, I can’t tell you how long it will officially be, but I do recommend that you give it a read. After all, if this sounds like your type of book, will 111 pages take you that long to read? Plus a book read is never really wasted time 😉 So even going into this book blind, I really did enjoy it. That is why I am giving it 4 stars out of 5. I would’ve giving it 5 out of 5, but I did have questions at the end that were left unanswered, which I dislike with a book, a film, or anything.

Leave a Reply

