Review: How To Save A Life – Kristin Harmel

image

****
I would like to thank NetGalley, the author and the publisher, once again, for allowing me to download and read this book in exchange for an honest review of this book. If you have no idea what Netgalley is, let me explain because I refer to them a lot.

It’s this amazing site where you are able to request to download and read eBooks for free, but you do have to review them, or you won’t be granted permissions to download or read anymore books that you request. They are all eBooks, but you can find some great finds on there and some great books before they have even been published 🙂 It’s free to sign up and use, so BONUS!! 😀 So if you fancy checking it out, go to http://www.netgalley.com and have a look around. Now back to my review…

What would you do if you just discovered that you have only weeks left to live? Would you have regrets left unfulfilled? Well, when the 39 year old pediatric oncology nurse receive the devastating news that she has an unoparible brain tumor, her life feels uncompleted. That is until she is told about the tree that enables a chosen few, the ability to relive the same day over again. What follows is heartache, joy, love, confusion and so much more, asking do you ever feel as though you have lived a completed life?

This novella has so many emotions and makes you think about you own mortallity and what you would do if you found out that you had only several days, weeks or months left to life?. There were moments I found pure joy and happiness and others that were so filled with sadness and emotional. It was such an unexpected little gem in my mind, that I wasn’t expecting to enjoy as much as I did. It was nice to see the differences between how a child aged 10 years old may feel, compared to a 39 year old looks at how uncompleted their life is and even a ninth year old.

It was beautifully written and it had a great message that you should live your life while your alive and not to stress about the little things, such as the small arguments for the sake of arguing and pride. But to forgive and remind people that you love them everyday because you don’t know what could happen tomorrow. This isn’t usually my type of book, but knowing people who have died from cancer and even suddenly from a stroke, it made me think how precious those little moments are.

I honestly don’t know what I think of the ending. I don’t know if I like it or not, because it could be either happy or sad, depending or how you choose to look at it. For this, I am giving this 4 out of 5 stars.

I did like this novella and it has definitely made me think about myself and what I would do. What did you think of this novella? Did you like ending? Comment below 🙂

Leave a Reply

