Review: The Art of Going Home (The Art of Living Book 1) – Nicole Sorrell

image

***
I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review of the book and as part of Goodreads Bookclub.

When Maddie Chandler was ten years old, her twin sister, Angeline, was murdered. Her mother then goes insane, being placed in an institution and with her father being who he is, Maddie is placed into the care of Aunt Ceci, who raises and treats Maddie as though she is her own daughter. Maddie goes through high school being blamed for her sisters death, also for being the wrong sister to have died, leaving town as soon as she leaves for college. It takes her ten years before she comes back to her home town, but sadly, she only come back to attend the funeral of the beloved Aunt Ceci. But as soon as she is back, she is forced to face her troubled past that she has hidden even from herself. There is some happiness, in the form of her old high school crush Zac, her friends and her home made family. Will she find the truth behind the murder of her sister? Is she going insane or is she really seeing her sisters ghost?

I was genuinely shocked that I enjoyed this book as much as i did and it was because I thought that I wasn’t going to enjoy this book, I have been putting it off until the last minute until it had to be read for the bookclub on Goodreads. There are so many topics in this book, which is surprising as it isn’t that big of a book, such as; Mystery, Erotica, Romance, Crime, Death, Paranormal, that I wasn’t sure which was the main theme of the book. There is another topic/theme, but I didn’t want to include it abovw, as it will give away one of the main surprises to the plot of this book.

The characters did have some strong developments, and I did like the relationship between Maddie and Zac. I even liked the relationship, or lack there of, between Maddie and her father. Even the writing was good and easy to follow and once I started reading it, it took me less than 2 days to finish it.

I did want to give this book 4 stars out of 5 because I did enjoy this book and it was good, but there were so many questions left unanswered and even though I know that there is going to be another book, I wouldn’t rush out to buy it. So for that reason, I had to give it 3 stars out of 5.

Now if you like mysteries you may like this one. It keeps you guessing right up until the last page, with constant twists and turns. If you’ve read this book, let me know what you thought of this book. Do you agree or disagree with my rating?

Leave a Reply

