March Book Haul 2016

image

Even though March isn’t technically over yet, this is going to be my first book haul on my site and I’ve got to admit that I was really excited for this haul, for one book in particular. I bought/won seven books this month, five of which arrived this morning, one of these books complete one of my top favourite series, owning every book he has written. So in no particular order, lets dive in….

image

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky.
“Charlie is a freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.”
Just from flicking through this book this morning, I can already see that this book written in a diary formatting from Charlies point of view, which is something different to what I’ve read recently and that really excites me to read this book. It’s not a big book to read either as it’s only 231 pages.

image

2. Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon.
“Maddie is allergic to the world. She hasn’t left her house in seventeen years.
Olly is the boy next door. He’s determined to find a way to reach her.
Everything, Everything is about the crazy risks we take for love.”
I was looking forward to reading this book before it arrived today, but then it arrived and my boyfriend came to visit me for a couple of hours and picked up the book. He got so engrossed in the book that he finished the entire book within less than two hours, laughing for what seemed like most of it and gasps and noises here and there, finally closing it and saying how much he enjoyed it. I wasn’t happy that he read it before me and how fast, but now I so can’t wait to read this book!!! This book contains 306 pages.

image

3. Faceless – Alyssa Sheinmel.
“When Maisie is burnt in a terrible accident, her face is partially destroyed. She’s lucky enough to get a face transplant, but how do you live your life when you can’t even recognise yourself any more? As Maisie discovers how much her looks shaped her relationship to the world, she has to redefine her own identity, and to figure out what ‘lucky’ really means.”
What really intrigued me about this book is the who identity issue behind it. Imagine looking into the mirror, but instead of seeing yourself, you see somebody else’s face. Not recognising yourself anymore, because you have somebody else’s face. How would that make you feel? I honestly don’t know how I would cope, which is why I bought this book and what makes me want to read it, to see how Maisie copes. This book contains 343 pages.

image

4. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews.
“It is a universally acknowledged truth that high school sucks. But on the first day of his senior year, Greg Gaines thinks he’s figured it out: the answer to the basic existential question, how is it possible to exist in a place that sucks so bad? His strategy: remain at the periphery at all times. Keep an insane low profile. Make mediocre films with the one person who is even sort of his friend, Earl. This plan works for exactly eight hours. Then Greg’s mother forces him to become friends with a girl who has cancer. This brings about the destruction of Greg’s entire life.”
This is going to sound really bad, coming from proud book reader, but I watched this film without knowing that it was a book first. I didn’t find out until looking on amazon for books to buy and I came across this book. I really enjoyed the film, so even though I knew what the ending was going to be, I had to buy this book, especially when I read the reviews on amazon. I’ve also read disappointing reviews, but I’ll have to decide for myself. This book contains 295 pages, plus extra from the author.

image

5. Still Alice – Lisa Genova.
“Alice is just fifty when she finds herself in a downward spiral,  increasingly disoriented and forgetful. A university Professor,  wife and mother of three, she has books to write, places to see, grandchildren to meet. But now a tragic diagnosis of early onset Alzheimer’s disease is set to change her life – and her relationship with her family and the world – forever.
Losing her yesterdays, living for each day, her short term memory is hanging by a frayed thread. But she is still Alice.”
This was a spur of the moment buy while walking through a market and coming across a charity book stall. I had seen this book all over amazon and Goodreads and being completely honestly, I picked this book up and bought it without reading the desciption and knowing anything about it. I thought that if it’s all over amazon and Goodreads and if it’s now a movie, then it must be good and for 50p I was not saying no to that. After reading the description, it does sound good and I’m glad I picked it up. This book contains 329 pages.

image

6. The Cage – Ethan Cross.
“Francis Ackerman Jr. is one of the most prolific serial killers in US history. But he’s not only a serial killer, he’s also a serial escapist. When a doctor who has discovered a groundbreaking treatment for psychopaths wants to test his theories upon Ackerman, the madman sees his chance at freedom. The only people that stand in his way are the hospital’s head of security and a you g woman with a personal vendetta against the killer.”
I have been looking forward to this prequel novella for months, but as I live in the UK and this is an international edition, when looking for it on places like Amazon for a new copy, it was £40 odd plus £10 delivery for a NOVELLA. I was also finding it on eBay and other places for around £10 odd used and for me that sounded expensive for a novella that’s not even a 100 pages (starts on page 13). But luckily. Amazon UK had 2 In stock New at £5.99, which is individually more expensive than every book on this list, but I just had to have it. I love Ethan Cross’ books, especially the Shepherd series. I have two favourite series and the Shepherd series is one of them. The thing that I love with this series is the villain. I love the villain!! He is my favourite character and I route for him to escape and get away, which shows that there is kind of something wrong with me right? I need to put reviews up about the other books, plus this one when I read it. This one contains 103 pages.

image

7. Missing, Presumed – Susie Steiner.
I won this book in a Goodreads Giveaway, an uncorrected proof copy. I am so excited about this book for so many reasons. This is the first book that I have ever won, from a good read giveaway, or from anywhere else, it’s a free book 😀 who doesn’t like free books, it’s an uncorrected proof copy which are so rare. But above all, I am so excited to read this book. I have wrote about winning this book, including the desciption of this book. Please click here for more information on this book. This book contains 404 pages.

I have so many books on my TBR list that I don’t buy too many books at the moment, I am currently on a book ban, so I shouldn’t be doing a lot of Book Hauls.

What books have you bought or read this month? Or what books are you most excited about reading? Comment below.

5 thoughts on “March Book Haul 2016

  1. noiselessmadman says:

    Looks like a very interesting haul. I’m currently half way through Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. It’s hilarious and not your typical YA book. It’s made me laugh out loud over a dozen times so far. I also just recently won my first Good Reads giveaway and am looking forward to receiving it soon. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • ShayneysReviews says:

      I’ve heard good things about Me and Earl and the Dying Girl so I’m hoping that it does live up to all the really good reviews. I was so excited when I won, I just couldn’t believe it. It said that it was going to take a few weeks but it arrived really quickly. It’s going to sound sad, but actually holding it in my hands felt amazing, especially reading the “uncorrected proof copy” on the inside of the book 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • ShayneysReviews says:

      Awwwh Thank you 😀
      I still can’t wait to read Perks of Being a Wallflower, I actually can’t believe that I haven’t read it yet! I’m slightly mad at myself. This is still high on my TBR list. And what’s worse is that I can’t watch the film before I read the book, so lose, lose atm.
      Thank you and I look forward to exploring your blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

