Review: The Hobbit – J. R. R. Tolkien

****

I am not the type of person who allows a movie, or in this case movies, influence my decision about how much I like the book or not. In fact it usually has the opposite reaction and I always end up hating the film because they can never live up to the amazing picture I have created in my head. But when it comes to this book I sadly watched the film before reading the book and the book couldn’t live up to how amazing the film’s had been.

In all honesty, this book was never that high on my tbr list and one of the only reasons that I did own it was because it was on this list of 100 books to read and because it was recommended to me. Every time I had originally started to read this book I put it down in search of a new adventure as I don’t believe in wasting time reading book you don’t like when you could be spending that time reading something else that you do like. But after watching all of the film’s I picked it back up with new excitement and started reading it, pushing myself through those first few chapters. I was then left feeling dissatisfied when I finished it as it didn’t seem as great as the film’s had lead me to believe it was going to be and I knew then that I should have read the book first like I always do. Don’t get me wrong I still really enjoyed the book and I still got thrills and it was great being inside the minds and throught process of the characters, otherwise I wouldn’t have given it the 4 stars. I even knew in advance that certain characters that were in the film didn’t exist, which meant that certain scenes wouldn’t exist, but Bilbos greatness was way over exaggerated in the film’s so I felt most disappointed in that. But I hate the fact that the movies were greater than the book!

Read the book first before seeing any of the movies, so that when you see the movies it add to it. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars because if I had read the book first then I know that I would’ve enjoyed it a lot more.

One thought on “Review: The Hobbit – J. R. R. Tolkien

Leave a Reply

