Review: Demons From My Past – J. L. Leslie

****

I was sent a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for a honest review of the book.

The story starts off with Kingsley, who is about to start working for her father, with a job that was organised and set up by her mother. After her troubled past she is finally trying to rebuild her life and rebuild the relationship with her family that was damaged, especially the relationship and trust between her and her father. She then meets this guy while she’s singing with her band the night before starting her new job and then she starts her job and it gets interesting and funny from then.

I do believe that this book could do with some more editing, as there was some spelling and other simple mistakes, but I was able to easily look past that enough to give this book 4 stars. I would’ve loved for it to have been longer as I was really enjoying the storyline, but I just found certain parts were lacking, but that may just have been me and my preference for bigger books, so I can really get into it. There was always something happening to keep you interested, whether it was the romance between Kingsleys and Paxton, mystery, sex, drugs, fighting and even death! The mystery behind certain characters pasts in this book alone gripped me from the beginning, before you even include anything else. I just had to know the mystery behind Paxton and the secret he was hiding about his mother. It was so fast paced, helped by the short chapters (which is a personal favourite to me) that all I could do was to keep reading. I ended up reading this book in one sitting and it only took me a very short period of time to do so. There are some great secondary characters and as a reader, I felt sad when the death occurred, although I did feel that more could have been written on that part. The author writes chapters from the two main characters point of view, most are from Kingsleys point of view and then there are other chapters told from Paxtons point of view, which I loved.

I would have rated this a 5 out of 5 for the simple fact that I couldn’t put it down and it’s not usually the type of book I would normally read and that it had so much in for such a short book. But it did have editing issues and it could have been made longer and would have been fantastic and then I definitely would have given it a 5 out of 5.

I would recommend this book for somebody who’s after a quick and easy read that’s full of action. Beware there are several sex scenes as this is an erotica book, first and foremost, but there is plenty more to it to keep you entertained, if that’s not your thing.

You can download this book on Amazon but I think that it’s only available to download on your kindle. If you have kindle unlimited, the last time I checked, you can even borrow it for free using Kindle Unlimited.

Leave a Reply

